Yarn Pooling Made Easy by Marly Bird – Book Review and Giveaway

Last year, yarn pooling or color pooling became a HUGE trend among the crochet community. I never really got the hang of it but there was no lack of trying there. So, when I received the opportunity to review Yarn Pooling Made Easy by the amazing Marly Bird, I jumped at the chance to learn from a master. Yarn Pooling Made Easy teaches you how to turn variegated yarn into something truly amazing with a simple stitch pattern! Not only does Marly teach you how to complete a planned yarn pooling project, she also has included 10 gorgeous crochet patterns in the book. If you have never heard of the trend and want to try it out now or have tried before and failed (like me!) you will definitely want to add Yarn Pooling Made Easy to your library.

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher to complete my review, but was not financially compensated in any way to write a favorable review. All opinions expressed in this post are my own. This post also contains affiliate links. I receive compensation from purchases made through these links. This small contribution helps support The Stitchin’ Mommy and allows me to bring you more great posts!

 

Yarn Pooling Made Easy by Marly Bird - Book Review and Giveaway | www.thestitchinmommy.com
Excerpted from Yarn Pooling Made Easy by Marly Bird. Copyright © 2017 Leisure Arts, Inc. Used with permission from the publisher. All rights reserved.

Title: Yarn Pooling Made Easy
Author: Marly Bird
Published by: Leisure Arts, Inc.
ISBN: 978-1-4647-6622-0
Format: Paperback, 32 pages
Published: July 1, 2017
Price: $9.99

Yarn Pooling Made Easy

Yarn Pooling Made Easy is an amazing resource that teaches you how to get started with planned color pooling. Since there are so many variables for achieving successful color pooling, Marly breaks it all down and explains the secret to the technique and how to apply it to the 10 gorgeous patterns in the book. Here are the patterns included in Yarn Pooling Made Easy:

  • Full Scarf p3
  • Wristers, Cowl, & Hat Set p6
  • Zig-Zag Scarf p10
  • Car Seat Cover p13
  • Baby Cocoon p16
  • Hooded Scarf p19
  • Child’s Sweater p22
  • Poncho With Raglan Yoke p26

Crochet Yarn Pooling

The projects in this book are all created with various kinds of Red Heart variegated yarn which work well with the color pooling “formula.” The projects are all unique and there is such a great variety of patterns, so there is something for everyone! The patterns in this book are written in standard US crochet terms. Each pattern includes a “Shopping List” with yarn, hook, and other supply information. The patterns also have gauge information including instructions on how to create the gauge swatch. There is also a stitch guide with instructions for the Moss Stitch, which is used in all of the patterns. The instructions are all clearly written and easy to understand.

In the book, Marly also includes the link to her amazing Planned Pooling video playlist on YouTube. She also has some great tips on her blog to help you along your planned pooling journey!


Giveaway

A huge thank you to Marly Bird and Leisure Arts for providing both the review copy and giveaway copy of Yarn Pooling Made Easy and allowing me to give this amazing book away to one of my lucky readers!

Here’s how to enter:

Use the Rafflecopter form below to enter. The giveaway is open to US residents only and will end on September 17, 2017 at 11:59pm ET. Please read all giveaway rules before entering. Good luck to you all!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Blog Tour

Marly is hosting a blog tour for Yarn Pooling Made Easy. You can find out more about it here. If you would like to stop by and visit all of the blogs participating in the blog tour and enter the other giveaways, you can find them all here:

Calleigh’s Clips & Crochet Creations: September 5, 2017
ACCROchet: September 6, 2017
The Stitchin’ Mommy: September 7, 2017 <– That’s me!
Crochet Memories: September 8, 2017
Pattern Paradise: September 11, 2017
5 Little Monsters: September 12, 2017
Yarnutopia: September 13, 2017
Same DiNamics Crochet: September 14, 2017
Nicki’s Homemade Crafts: September 15, 2017
Looping With Love: September 18, 2017
Underground Crafter: September 19, 2017

In addition to the giveaways hosted by the bloggers above, Marly will be hosting a giveaway each day of the 10-day blog tour for Planned Pooling Made Easy! You can find Marly’s daily giveaways on her YouTube channel.

Similar Posts

68 Comments

  1. After many attempts & failures at yarn pooling, based on things I have looked at on the internet, I purchased this book. I haven’t had a chance to try it yet, but looking foward to it.

  2. I have always wanted to try this technique and this book looks very interesting. Marly Bird is such a great teacher.

  3. This is still an adventure in my crochet journey that I have not done!! This book sounds like the gateway to understanding and trying the technique!!

  4. Thanks for reviewing this book. I’ve wanted to try yarn pooling but have been intimidated by it. Maybe I’ll give it a try.

  5. This is one thing I have yet to tackle. I look forward reading and learning all I can about yarn pooling. The review is what made me want this book and of course it’s by Marly Bird, now that lady can craft. Thanks Stitch mommy for steering me in the right direction.

  6. My Daughter showed me this book and I just can hardly believe that this can be done! Fascinating concept and since I am a doubter, I appreciate the review and so in the next year want to give this technique a try. Thanks so much!

  7. as much as I enjoy this yarn pooling,its not always the easiest to get started. You think you got it then Bam it all starts to change. So maybe I should get this book.

  8. I have a wanted to try yarn pooling. After reading your review I think I will definitely be giving it try.

  9. I love the look of yarn pooling but haven’t got it down yet and would love anything that would make it easier.

  10. I haven’t tried yarn pooling but would like to. These are some very nice patterns. Beautiful work. Thank you.

  11. Your review of this book has given me the inspiration to try colour blocking – something I’ve been nervous to try. Also, I will be getting a copy of this book, having also see photos of some of the projects.

  12. I am really interested in yarn pooling and your review makes me want to try it again-maybe this time I can figure it out.

  13. this was a fun fade last year, and I actually was able to make a few scarfs and dishtowels that looked terrific with the pooling. I remember way back when I was learning to crochet and knit from my Mom, how she told me if I adjusted my tension and kept it consistent, I’d see a pattern emerge as I went … this is what she meant.

  14. I have been thinking of trying yarn pooling and this book looks like a great starting place with Marley’s secrets

  15. I have been too intimidated to try yarn pooling but now with the help of this book I will be ready to give it a try! I love watching Marly’s videos, so I’m sure her book will be great. Thanks for the review!

  16. This is a technique I have been wanting to try for a while now. This book looks like the perfect thing to get me doing it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.